I had an interesting message in my Inbox this morning:
Dear Washington Mutual business online client:Now let's pick it apart. I like how they say it's obligatory, and how there's an extra "the" in the message. The link that they want you to click reads something like:
The WAMU Customer Service requests you to complete the Washington Mutual Business Online Client Form.
This procedure is obligatory for all business and corporate clients of Washington Mutual.
Please select the hyperlink and visit the address listed to access the Washington Mutual Business Online Client Form.
http://treasury-***.wamu.com/ibswamu/cmserver/base/default/do.cfmHowever, if you click the link it doesn't take you to that Web address. Instead, you'll head to a computer in Hong Kong:
http://treasury-***.wamu.com.mkfjhf.hk/ibswamu/cmserver/base/default/do.cfmOf course, it's a phishing scam -- but it's a decent try. As always, assume that such emails from your bank are scams. In addition, you can spot these yourself by opening all email in text-only mode. It'll save you a few seconds wondering if the email is legitimate.
Further reading:


I was getting so many of these phising emails that I have a perfered list of emails to recieve. If a persons email is not on that list, I do not recieve their email. Thank God I haven’t gotten a phising email since.